Rachel Segalman, 3 other UCSB Faculty Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

UC Santa Barbara professors Alison Butler, José Cabezón, Brenda Major, and Rachel Segalman have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They join 210 other new fellows and international members of the prestigious organization. Their selection brings to 41 the number of UC Santa Barbara faculty members who have been named fellows of the academy.

The academy is an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions and perspectives to address significant challenges. Founded by John Adams in 1780 during the American Revolution, the academy named luminaries such as George Washington and Benjamin Franklin among its first fellows. Since then, more than 13,000 individuals have been elected to academy membership, including Thomas Jefferson, John James Audubon, Willa Cather, Jonas Salk, Eudora Welty and Edward K. (Duke) Ellington.

Read the article.

Professor Rachel Segalman, Chemical Engineering

Professor Rachel Segalman, Chemical Engineering