Points of Pride


Read news highlights and research discoveries in our newsroom.

Rankings Highlights

#1 in the world for research impact, among public universities, Leiden University rankings for research citation impact in engineering, 2013, 2015, 2016

#1 Materials graduate program, among public universities, US News (many years running), NRC 2010

#5 Chemical Engineering graduate program, among public universities, US News 2015

All graduate programs ranked in the Top 8, NRC 2010

3 Nobel Laureates among our accomplished faculty

#1 Most early career faculty awards, NSF CAREER or Presidential PECASE awards, among public universities

Faculty Distinctions

  • Total faculty: 153
  • Nobel Prizes: 3
  • National Academy of Engineering: 29
  • National Academy of Science: 9
  • National Academy of Inventors: 7
  • National Medal of Technology: 2
  • Highly Cited Researchers: 6
  • Royal Society of London: 4
  • Royal Society of Sweden: 1
  • Royal Academy of Engineering: 2
  • Millennium Award: 1

Research Highlights

  • We operate as the west coast hub of the American Photonics Manufacturing Institute launched by the White House in 2015
  • We are one of several research institutions within the federal initiative Next Generation Power Electronics Institute
  • Professor Shuji Nakamura received the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics for invention of blue LED technology
  • Professors Herb Kroemer and Alan Heeger, both Nobel Prize recipients of 2000, are pioneers in semiconductor heterostructures, the basis for modern photonics
  • Professors Gossard and Kroemer were early pioneers in molecular beam epitaxy 
  • The world's largest student "capture the flag" hacking competition is held by the UCSB Computer Security group
  • UCSB was one of the first nodes of ARPAnet, the first transmission of the Internet

Industry Distinctions

  • One of the most successful public-private research partnerships in the country, with a nearly 1:1 patent-to-publication ratio, Mitsubishi Center
  • #1 in patents issued, utility licenses, and start-up companies per $100M in funding
  • Among Top 50 schools for venture capital backed entrepreneurship, Forbes 2014