Belding and Manjunath Selected ACM Fellows

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) named two professors in UC Santa Barbara’s College of Engineering, Elizab​eth Belding and Bangalore S. Manjunath, ACM Fellows for significant contributions during the digital age. 

A professor in the Computer Science and Electrical & Computer Engineering Departments, Manjunath was honored for his contributions to image search and retrieval with applications in digital libraries, marine sciences, and biology. He serves as the director of UCSB’s Center for Multimodal Big Data Science and Healthcare, and his lab created BisQue, an image management and analysis platform that makes it easier to share and distribute large data sets and use them to collaborate. The platform manages imaging data for marine science, biology, materials science, and neuroscience. Manjunath is also a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). 

Belding, a professor in the Computer Science Department, was cited by ACM for her contributions to communication in mobile networks and their deployment in developing regions. An IEEE Fellow and ACM Distinguished Scientist, Belding has undertaken information and communication technologies for development (ICTD) projects in Zambia, South Africa, Mongolia, and, most recently, Native American communities in the United States. Belding co-developed the ad hoc on-demand distance vector (AODV) routing protocol for wireless computer networks (WLAN).

Fewer than one percent of the association’s global members are selected as ACM Fellows. The fifty-six Fellows in this year’s class hail from the United States, Finland, Greece, Israel, Sweden, and Switzerland.

“The ACM Fellow program publicly recognizes the people who made key contributions to the technologies we enjoy,” said ACM President Cherri M. Pancake. “We are honored to add a new class of Fellows to ACM’s ranks, and we look forward to the guidance and counsel they will provide to our organization.” 

The ACM will formally recognize its 2018 Fellows at the annual Awards Banquet in San Francisco on June 15, 2019. 

Professors Elizabeth Belding and Bangalore S. Manjunath